Executive Committee (ExCom)

The Executive Committee is made up of four officers who manage the Registrar Stakeholder Group (Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer). The Executive Committee officers are selected from existing members, who are nominated and seconded by other members, and then a ballot taken where the successful candidate is selected by majority vote. The term for an ExCom officer runs from from July 1 to June 30 and their duties are specified in the RrSG Charter.

Graeme BuntonTobias SattlerBen AndersonKristian Ørmen

Executive Committee – Chair

Graeme Bunton Graeme Bunton is manager of public policy at Tucows, and was elected as Chair of the Registrar Stakeholder Group in July 2016, and re-elected to serve a second term concluding in June 2018. Prior becoming the Chair, he served the group as the Vice Chair.  The chair, in consultation with the executive committee and members, organizes the work of the Stakeholder Group and conducts Registrar Stakeholder Group meetings. The chair often confers with others in the ICANN community on Registrar-related policy and business issues, and is the primary point of contact between the Registrar Stakeholder Group and ICANN staff.

Executive Committee – Vice Chair/CTO

Tobias Sattler Tobias Sattler is the CIO of united-domains AG and was elected as Vice Chair of the Registrar Stakeholder Group in October 2016, and re-elected to serve a second term concluding in June 2018. The Vice Chair assumes leadership of the Registrar Stakeholder Group in the absence of the Chairman; monitors and reports on technical issues related to the domain name system; reports on activities of interest and importance to the Registrar Stakeholder Group.

Executive Committee – Treasurer

Ben Anderson Ben Anderson is Head of New gTLD Services and Products at the NetNames Group. At NetNames, he oversees domain services for the Group’s brands as well as product development for TLD related services. He  was elected Treasurer in July 2016, and re-elected to serve a second term concluding in June 2018. Among other tasks, the Treasurer is expected to manage Stakeholder Group bookkeeping and accounting; Report on the Stakeholder Group budget monthly; Make recommendations for and prepare an annual Stakeholder Group budget; Act as liaison with ICANN and Names Council budget staff and the Budget Committee; And collect dues and fees.

Executive Committee – Secretary

Kristian Ørmen Kristian Ørmen is the Domain Specialist at Larsen Data and was elected as Secretary of the Registrar Stakeholder Group in July 2017. The Secretary assists the Chair in conducting Stakeholder Group business as well as other duties including managing the groups’ ballots and elections, taking and distributing minutes at meetings, conveying information to the members, management of the web site, and encouraging new members to join.

ICANN Representatives

The Registrar Stakeholder Group elects three GNSO representatives and one Nominating Committee member.

The GNSO is ICANN’s policy-making body for generic Top Level Domains (gTLDs). It has a bicameral structure, with one house for those parties that have a direct contracted with ICANN and the other house for those that do not. The Registrar Stakeholder Group is one of two in the Contracted Parties House. There are also two Stakeholder Groups in the Non Contracted Parties House. The Registrar Stakeholder Group has three seats on the GNSO Council, which are filled by a representative from one of the 5 geographic regions: Africa, Asia/Australia/Pacific, Europe, Latin America/ Caribbean and North America. These representatives are elected to represent the Registrar Stakeholder Group on the GNSO Council. Learn more about the GNSO HERE

The Nominating Committee (NomCom) member is responsible for selecting individuals to serve in key leadership positions within the ICANN structure. Although the Registrar Constituency elects a member of the Nominating Committee, that member is not accountable to the Stakeholder Group, but IS accountable for adherence to the Bylaws and for compliance with the rules and procedures established by the NomCom.  Learn more about the NomCom HERE.

Darcy SouthwellMichele NeylonPam LittleTheo Geurts

GNSO Representative – North America

Darcy Southwell Darcy Southwell is the Compliance Officer at Endurance International Group and was elected as the Registrars’ representative to the GNSO Council in September 2016, after holding the positions of Secretary and Vice-Chair of the Registrar Stakeholder Group.

GNSO Representative – Europe

Michele Neylon Michele Neylon is the founder and managing director of Blacknight Solutions and was elected as the Registrars’ European representative to the GNSO Council in June 2016 after serving as Chairman to the Registrar Stakeholder Group.

GNSO Representative – Asia Pacific

Pam Little
Pam Little is Head of Policy & Compliance at Alibaba, and was elected as the Registrars’ Asia Pacific representative to the GNSO Council in August 2017.

Nominating Committee Member

Theo Geurts is the Compliance & Policy Officer at Realtime Register B.V., a wholesale registrar. He was elected to the Nominating Committee in June 2017 and seated during AGM 2017. Prior to this position, he served as the Secretary from July 2016 till June 2017. The Nominating Committee members are responsible for selecting independent directors for the ICANN Board, as well as the independent counsellors of the ALAC, the ccNSO Council and GNSO Council.

Supporting Staff

In addition to the Executive Committee and ICANN Representatives, the Registrar Stakeholder Group has a Secretariat that provides numerous services.

Zoe Bonython

Registrar Stakeholder Group Secretariat

Zoe Bonython As Secretariat, Zoe works on a variety of projects with the ExCom to support the efforts of the RrSG.  She currently also teaches Business Communication at LCI, South Mediterranean University. Her background is in project, event and operations management and she has previously worked for another international non-profit membership.